Professor Timothy Olagbemiro

Board Chairman

Professor Timothy Oyebode Olagbemiro was born in Jos, Plateau State. He had his elementary, secondary and university education in Baptist schools both in Nigeria and the United States of America, between 1954 and 1976. He obtained his Ph.D degree in Chemistry from Howard University, Washington DC, U.S.A. in 1976. He served as a postdoctoral fellow on US National Science Foundation(NSF) Grant at Howard, upon graduation, before taking up a teaching appointment at his alma matter, Fisk University, Nashville Tennessee, USA, as Assistant Professor of Chemistry, on tenured track. In September, 1977, Professor Olagbemiro joined the Lederle Research Laboratories, American Chemical Company, pearl River New York, USA, before he returned to Nigeria in October, 1978 to join the staff of Chemistry Department, BayeroUniversity, Kano, as Lecturer I. With a dint of hard work, quality research publications in international journals of repute and of high impact, dedication and administrative skills, and within six years of his academic career in Nigeria, Professor Olagbemiro rose in rank to the positions of Senior Lecturer, and Reader to be appointed in 1984, Professor of Chemistry Chemistry, even at the age of 36, at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

His over 42 years of work experience spread across industry, university teaching and administration, as well as research both in Nigeria, the U. S. and the U. K. He has served in various capacities as Research Consultant, Research Scientist, Resident Hall Adviser, Head of Department, Dean of Faculty, Dean of Students, Director of Academic Planning, Member of Senate and Council and Acting Vice-Chancellor. He was the immediate past Vice-Chancellor of Bowen University of the Nigerian Baptist Convention, and the immediate past Chairman(2007 to 2013), Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Registrars of Private Universities in Nigeria. Professor Olagbemiro was Vice Chancellor of Bowen University Iwo, Osun State, for a period of 10 years (August 2003, to August 2013).

Professor Olagbemiro in the course of his career, is a recipient of notable international research grants and awards, such as The US National Foundation Science(US NSF) research grant, US Carnegie Research award, British Council Research award, Rothamsted International(RI) Research Fellowship, Third World Academy Science(TWAS) Research Award, and the international Foundation for Science(IFS) Research Award, and The Welcome Trust Research grant, among others. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria, and Fellow, Chemical Society of Nigeria. Professor Olagbemiro is a recipient of the Stetson University, Deland, Florida, USA, Distinguished Alumni Award, a devoted Christian, and a Fellow of the Christian Athlete of America.

Professor Timothy O Olagbemiro is the current and Pioneer Vice-Chancellor of Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo, Delta State.